Channel moderation
Moderation tools for group channels
General
You can manage and moderate a channel from the conversation tools, channel menu, member list user menu, and channel settings.
Moderation tools are visible when a member has been granted moderator rights for the channel
. A channel operator can grant channel-specific moderator rights to other members.
Do not keep moderator rights enabled unnecessarily
Do not keep moderator rights enabled unnecessarily, especially on private team channels. This helps prevent moderators from accidentally hiding messages or removing users from a channel.
Moderation tools

Hidden messages
With the moderation tools, you can hide disruptive or unnecessary messages. See the instructions below. You can make hidden messages visible in your user settings.
Organizing a group discussionChannel settings
Who can write in the channel
In channel settings, you can define how visitors can write in the channel. For example, you can reduce disruptive behaviour by automatically silencing new visitors or hiding their messages.
See the Channel settings section āSecurity settings ā who can write in the channelā for more information:
Channel settingsSee āChannel menuā below for additional channel settings.
Conversation tools
Open the moderation tools by hovering over a comment and clicking the three-dot menu.

Silence user...
Silence the user for 5 minutes, 15 minutes, 1 hour, 24 hours, or indefinitely
Hide this message
Hide the selected message from other users
Show message
Show a hidden message
Hide all messages from this user
Hide all messages from the user from other users
Show/Hide new messages from this user
Hide or show the user's new messages by default; moderators can still show or hide individual messages manually
Remove user from this channel
The user can no longer write in the channel or see new messages
Delete message
Permanently remove the message from the channel
User menu
Click a user in the member list to open the user menu.

Start private conversation
Start a conversation with the selected person
Remove operator rights
The user is no longer a channel operator
Give moderator rights
The user can moderate the conversation
Silence user...
Silence the user for 5 minutes, 15 minutes, 1 hour, 24 hours, or indefinitely
Hide all messages from this user
Hide all messages from the user from other visitors
Hide new messages from this user
Hide or show the user's new messages by default
(moderators can still show or hide individual messages)
Remove user from this channel
Remove the user completely from the conversation.
Channel menu
Click the channel name in the header to open the channel menu.
Silence all
No users can write new messages.
Unsilence all
Allow all users to write messages.
Enable autohide for all
Hide all messages from new users automatically. Moderators can reveal messages individually.
Disable autohide for all
Show messages from new users automatically.
Close channel
Close the channel and the conversation.
Last updated